Video Killed the Radio Star

For some reason, that is the song that comes to mind when I think of my current dilemma. Except it’s more like “Twitter killed the Blogging Star”.

The truth is, my blog seems less necessary now that I have built up this amazing circle on twitter. It’s instant gratification. And everyone knows how New Yorkers are addicted to that.

For instance, when I finished reading “The Time Travelers Wife” by Audrey Niffenegger the other day, I could have written a long entry about how wonderful the book was. How engrossed I became in the storyline. How I admire the author and how her success makes my fledgling attempts seem that much more like childish dribble. Instead, I twittered:

recently finished reading “The Time Traveler’s Wife”. One of the best I’ve read this year. It’s up with “The Stand” and “Wraethu” for me.

Short. Succinct. Capable of garnering an immediate response. There is a lot of power in 140 characters. A discussion that could carry on through several days if I allow it. About books, other momentous works of fiction and how one feels when one finishes reading something that touches one’s life.

Immediately, the blog doesn’t seem good enough. Fast enough. Communal enough.

Ultimately my blogs will always have their place. I couldn’t stop keeping one if I tried…it has been 8 years already. Entries like “Why Do I Call Myself The Haitian Queen” will always need a home. Yet I find my blog entries few and far between. I only come here when I really have something to say now. And I am finding that is not a bad thing at all.

~ by Reveye on July 2, 2009.

One Response to “Video Killed the Radio Star”

  1. I’m pretty sure I don’t have to tell you that I feel this post 100%. I say “Twitter killed the Blog Star” all the time. My blog, too, is just a dud right now. I’m strangely OK with it, too.

    P.S. I LOVE The Time Traveler’s Wife. Not looking forward to the movie adaptation, though.

Leave a Reply

 
