Why do I call myself “The Haitian Queen”?

Most people on the internet know me as Brick and I still answer to that pseudonym. But in the last 4 years I have taken on the pseudonym “The Haitian Queen” or “HQ”. People often expect my blog entries and discussions to only be about Haiti or the plight of 3rd world/developing countries. That is not the case. So why the name?

My entire family on both sides is Haitian. I grew up visiting Haiti regularly, steeped in Haitian culture, required to learn to speak Kreyol and French in order to communicate with loved ones and navigate the country of my ancestry. Being Haitian has always been a strong part of my identity. I am well educated. I travel a lot- visiting Trinidad every year is just the tip of the iceberg. I have lived all over the world.

The world perception of Haiti/Haitians is very narrow. People always talk about “the poorest country in the Western Hemisphere”. Those who are more enlightened may mention that Haiti is the first black republic. I may hear a bit about the indomitable Haitian spirit.

But there is so much more to us than that!

Haitians are passionate, intelligent, dynamic. Artistic and creative. Haitians come to America and learn English within 6 months, own their home within a year. Haitians love to talk about politics and the world.

And so I call myself “The Haitian Queen” not to signal the types of topics that I intend to discuss here, but rather to signify that I am a representative of this amazing little country that could. I want to expand people’s views of what being a Haitian entails, what Haitians really are. I remember how it felt to be surrounded by Haitians in college, at some of the most elite institutions in the United States. I knew they were Haitian. Maybe it was the way they said a certain word, or that french-sounding surname. But no one else did. It was knowledge that we held amongst ourselves.

It is time to come out of the shadows. It is time to represent and be proud of this little country from when we have all come. I represent only part of all the things that Haiti is: amazing, not easily grasped or defined. I am here!

~ by Reveye on June 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “Why do I call myself “The Haitian Queen”?”

  1. […] are passionate, intelligent, dynamic. Artistic and creative”: The Haitian Queen explains why she chose her blogging moniker. Cancel this […]

  2. […] place. I couldn’t stop keeping one if I tried…it has been 8 years already. Entries like “Why Do I Call Myself The Haitian Queen” will always need a home. Yet I find my blog entries few and far between. I only come here when I […]

Leave a Reply

 
