China Beach


When I was in middle school I used to be obsessed with a show called China Beach. It focused on an evacuation hospital during the Vietnam war. It used to come on ABC at 10pm. The intro was the song “Reflections” by Diana Ross. “Reflections of, the way life used to be, reflections of, the love you took from me”… I remember the words to the song to this day.

Dana Delaney- it’s so strange to see her in other roles now. I always think of her as Lt. McMurphy from China Beach. I had such little girl hero worship for her! She was so noble and yet, human.

China Beach was the first prime time show that I chose for myself. I watched Miami Vice and St. Elsewhere with my Dad, Dynasty and the Colbys with my Mom. The Cosby Show was a family affair. But China Beach was mine. I would curl myself into the couch in the den and watch it, all by my lonesome. The main reason why I loved it so much? I chose it for myself.

~ by Reveye on January 26, 2009.

2 Responses to “China Beach”

  1. That was my show too! I love the opening song…my mother would wonder why I was humming the Supremes to myself LOL

  2. Yes! I hear it in supermarkets soetimes and I get all crazy with it…LOL

Leave a Reply

 
