Smells Like Obama Spirit

Well here I am, safely arrived in the Nation’s Capital, mobile blogging from my phone on a *gasp* Saturday morning. It has been a while since I’ve been back in DC and there are a lot of changes. I was stunned to see a monstrosity of a building over by Ave O and Florida NW. Even though I have seen the new Columbia Heights already, it still boggles my mind when I see the pretty mall with it’s Target and Marshalls- & then try and remember what it used to look like. The landscape has definitely changed, not enough for me not to recognize the city, but definitely enough for me to notice.

I have whole slew of activities planned, going to catch up with a lot of people that I haven’t seen in a long time. I attended graduate school at Howard University & a lot of people are returning to the Mecca this weekend- impromptu reunions have sprung up all over the city. Should be fun!

Street closings begin tomorrow & I anticipate that’s when DC driving will become nightmarish. But I am looking beyond that to Tuesday when I get to witness History!

~ by Reveye on January 17, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
