Plane Crash in the Hudson

Today, a US Airways flight heading out of LaGuardia to North Carolina crashed in the Hudson. I cannot tell you how this is my worst nightmare.

I have traveled all of my life, taking my first flight at six months old. Yet it is the activity I like the least. I am not comfortable in the air. I don’t feel it’s natural. I am not a bird and I don’t have feathers. Yet, I cannot deny the convenience of flight. And being of Haitian descent, I have little choice if I want to see my family.

I have tried lots of things to stay calm on a plane. Listen to music or read a book. I have tried to meditate. I tried reading this book. I tried taking these pills. Still I am often gripped with terror for the entirety of the flight. I can’t even sleep more than 15 minutes on a plane, I stay awake and monitor every noise and bump. Hell I don’t even like going too high on the swings in the park, so you can imagine how I feel about cruising altitude.

I am thankful that all 155 people escaped from the plane with little more than exposure (not even hypothermia in this NY cold). But this makes it all the harder to step on a plane the next time. Thank goodness I have a little while before that comes!

~ by Reveye on January 15, 2009.

2 Responses to “Plane Crash in the Hudson”

  1. I’m glad no one was hurt in the crash, sounds like the pilot did a great job

  2. I know it’s the best possible scenario in a plane crash, that the landing be gentle and everyone survive. It should give me hope, but it just scares me even more! LOL

Leave a Reply

 
