New Year’s Prep Continued…

My apartment is like a breath of fresh air. Table surfaces and floors are clean. I am thinking of instituting a no shoe policy in my apartment now. All is well except…the bedroom. It is my last haven of clutter. It seems almost insurmountable.

It’s the books.

I have books everywhere. I just can’t seem to pare down the books, no matter how hard I try. I remember when I moved to Virginia, I put 50 books outside my door for my neighbors to take. It was horrific. I thought of those books constantly afterwards, wanting to hold them, wishing I could read my dog-eared favorite parts.

I took it seriously in grade school when the teacher said that books are your friends. When we recieved our textbooks for the year, I would sit for hours, lovingly covering them in brown paper. It was reinforced by my parents…whenever we went into a bookstore, my Dad would allow me to get at least one book. I rarely had a time limit when I wanted to dash into the local library. My parents encouraged me to love books and learning.

I am in the middle of about 5 books right now. A couple I am avidly reading, like “Sea of Sorrows” by Michelle West, “The Wraiths of Will and Pleasure” by Storm Constantine and “Fearless Fourteen” by Janet Evanovich. Others are in mini-hibernation, such as “The Forest Lover” by Susan Vreeland and “Ines My Soul” by Isabelle Allende. One day I will pick up one of these mini-hibernation books and lose sleep to finish the story all at once. I keep them close because I know my habits.

I am not happy about having to keep these things in my bedroom either. I know that books and desks in the bedroom is not condusive to rest and sanctuary. But that is a bi-product of city living and I have little choice.

For now, I will continue to double and triple stock my shelves, dreaming of a large apartment/home where I can finally unearth all of my treasures. I will no longer have to take down box after box when I long to read a book that lives in storage in my closet. One day.

Until then, I need to clean my room!

Clutter help:

~ by Reveye on December 29, 2008.

2 Responses to “New Year’s Prep Continued…”

  1. Girl I feel you about how much city apartments make us pile things we normally wouldn’t keep into our rooms. Just the other day, I was sitting in the tub thinking about how tvs have become the focal point of rooms for some people — decorating around them and what not. I have vowed that when I do move and have my own bedroom again — to really seriously consider NOT putting a tv in there.

    I also feel your love of books — it’s always hard for me to part with really good books.

  2. I know! I have been thinking of going to Ikea and buying those curtain panels, Anno or Flyn Lill ( http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/40141668 ) and covering up my books/tv area. Time for a bedroom sanctuary in 2009!

Leave a Reply

 
