Dreams

I have been having the strangest dreams lately. This morning I had a dream that a former colleague of mine was attacked, but when she came to us asking for help, we refused her and tried to hide from her and ignore her. Oddly enough, Camryn Manheim was also in the dream as a reporter wanting to do an expose on my former colleague. It was all very strange.

What are dreams? Everyone has them, even though not everyone can always remember them. Research shows that when you don’t dream, it can lead to some heavy consequences, including daytime hallucinations. There are many different theories as to what dreams are. Some believe that it is your subconscious dealing with the things happening in your every day life. Others believe that dreams aren’t important, that they are just the refuse of your mind. Some say that dreams are extremely important, that they are a form of communication to you about your life and your current and/or future circumstance. Others say that they are powerful method of self-exploration.

I have always had a healthy respect for mysticism and the unexplained. I can recall several incidents where family members have reported their dreams coming true. There are certain types of dreams that I am terrified to get. I rarely remember my dreams, so when I do I always try to record them and see if I can find an interpretation for them, to explain away the “vividness” in my mind.

My research suggests that an attack in dreams indicates some sort of powerlessness in real life, reflecting a feeling of uneasiness or a lack of safety. Another theory is that attack indicates a humiliation, present or future or an unwanted favor or help that is coming from somewhere.

I am not sure what I believe that dreams are. But dream analysis and interpretation are methods that I try and use to make me feel better about dreams that I find particularly disturbing. I am not sure they worked in this instance. I guess I will find out when I go to sleep tonight.

~ by Reveye on December 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
